inyourightmind

Reaching out to Christians experiencing mental health problems.

Psalm 23

‘Though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,

I shall fear no evil, for Though art with me, Thy rod and Thy staff, they comfort me,

Though prepares a table for me in the presence of my enemies

Psalm 23 is one of the most beautiful psalms, but I am particularly drawn to two things. The first thing to notice is that God has laid a table with our future blessings/ministry, etc and has done this in the presence of our enemy! It’s amazing to me that God has allowed the devil to see where I am headed and it’s as if He is saying; ‘go on then Satan, see if you can thwart my plan for Patricks life’

The second thing that blesses me is that psalm 23 tells us that ‘His rod and staff  they comfort me’. You see, I always considered the comforter (Holy Spirit) would give me a big spiritual cuddle and perhaps whisper ‘there, Patrick, everything going to be just fine, I will sort it all out for you’ but this psalm is telling me that it’s a rod and staff that is used to comfort me and the rod and staff is what a shepherd uses to prod the sheep in the bahooky if it does not go in the direction that the shepherd wants him to.

It’s awesome to think that Jesus is telling us that the enemy knows our future in Christ and that we will go through some tough times because the enemy is trying to stop us getting through ‘The valley of the shadow of death’ but the Holy Spirit will be prodding us along, making sure we are going in the right direction, until we finally reach the table that Jesus has prepared for us.

So no matter what we are going through, we can take heart that the very battle that seems to be crushing us, is the battle that is making us stronger and preparing us for our destiny in Christ.

Be blessed.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Psalm 23

  1. Awesome! I never thought of this Psalm in these terms. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

Reinventing the We'll

faith, family, adventure, and dealing with change,

Fuel for Faith

Christian apologetics and devotion, and the ramblings of a budding eccentric extraordinaire

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Living Upward

The path of life leads upward for the wise... Prov. 15:24

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

FaithRises

"Discussions on faith and perseverance"

deeproets

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

