inyourightmind

Reaching out to Christians experiencing mental health problems.

My God, My God, why has Though forsaken Me?

I have heard a number of people using the fact that Jesus said this while on the cross, as evidence that He could not have been God!

The reasoning goes that since Jesus was asking God a question, then Jesus could not have known the answer, therefore He could not have been God, since God is all knowing.

The problem with this reasoning is it stumbles at the first hurdle, because the bible does not say that Jesus cried out ‘My God, My God, why has Though Forsaken Me?’ what scripture says is Jesus cried out saying; ‘Eli, Eli, Lama Sabachthani?  Which translated means ‘My God, My God, why has Though forsaken Me?

This amazing portion of scripture tells us that the people around the cross at the time did not know what Jesus was saying and some even thought He was crying out to Elijah.

They did they understand that Jesus was quoting Psalm 22 in the ancient Aramaic language in which it was originally written.

The Pharisees and others did not realise that Jesus was sending a message of love to every single one of His followers, both alive and yet to be born! a message of love that said; ‘even in My darkest hour, I was thinking of you, so I will quote this psalm for you to see that although I was going through agony, I was in complete control because I knew that the end result was that:  ‘I will tell of Thy name to My brethren, In the midst of the assembly I will praise You’ (verse 22)  

Psalm 22 tells us much about the crucifixion, the agony the feelings the mocking the insults, but in the last verse (31) it says: ‘They will come and declare His righteousness, To a people who will be born, that he has performed it’

We are the ‘people to be born’  Jesus had us in mind while He was hanging on the cross, He sent us a message of love even in the middle of His suffering, telling us that He was willing to do this for us, because it was the only way we could be saved. I can hardly think of this without my eyes filling up.

Thank you Lord Jesus.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Reinventing the We'll

faith, family, adventure, and dealing with change,

Fuel for Faith

Christian apologetics and devotion, and the ramblings of a budding eccentric extraordinaire

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Living Upward

The path of life leads upward for the wise... Prov. 15:24

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Faithrises

"Discussions on faith and perseverance"

deeproets

Just another WordPress.com site

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

